8creativewriters

A fine WordPress.com site

A Short Story By L ; A Day in the Life of Jamie

Leave a comment

“Look at that!” bursted out Marley, as he pointed his slender, long finger at me. Marley’s mob soon started to surround me, like millions of flies feeding off a carcass. My heart began to race; I hoped my heart wasn’t about to sprint out of my chest and splatter all over the mob!

“Yuck!” exclaimed one of Marley’s gang members, grimacing at my ugly face. “You’re right. He definitely ain’t normal!”  I tucked my annoying fringe behind my ears, as I tried to walk straight past the obnoxious bullies.

“Look! This is gross! I think they’re actually kissing!” Marley said this, as he flashed his iPhone to all his followers. The device showed a picture of me and some random guy (who I couldn’t even remember) standing very close to each other, at my cousin’s 18th birthday party. Marley obviously edited the picture to make it seem as if we were kissing! Oh great! Marley knew my secret!

“Yeah, that was me! So what?” I proudly questioned Marley, trying to prevent myself from breaking down and begging him not to show anyone the photo. I knew by now this secret would have spread round the entire school, so there was no point in trying to stop it: Marley was like a disease, corrupting every mind and poisoning every soul against me.

“Yuck! So you’re proud that you drink and like boys then?” shouted Marley, beginning to crack up in front of all his friends. I swiftly sprinted passed the verbal abusers, heading towards school; Marley and his crew were not far behind me, exposing the picture to everybody walking by.

I opened my locker door, to peer at the half-broken mirror inside it. All I could see were my big, blue, prominent eyes, staring back at me. I used this opportunity to sort out my messy fringe, by tucking the mop-textured hair behind my microscopic ear. I absolutely hated the way I looked! My eyes were far too big for my small, rounded face and my tiny ears made it impossible for my stupid hair to stay neatly back.

 

“Hey, Jamie,” spoke a very friendly voice. I swiftly slammed my locker door shut and turned round to face a girl with tomato-coloured hair, massive hoop earrings and a skirt no longer than a centimetre high.

“Errr… Hi!” I acted, trying to seem interested in seeing Ruby again, after these six week holidays. I didn’t like Ruby at all- in fact I actually despised her, just like I despised all the other attention seeking girls in our year. All they cared about were their reputations and somehow I was the main attraction to them. I wasn’t even the slightest bit good looking- I was ugly!  

“How were your holidays?” asked the wannabe Cheryl Cole- lookalike, curling a small section of her hair round her thin finger.

“Errr… Fine, I guess…”

“Do you wanna, like, hang out some time? I dunno, like, get some coffee?”

“I don’t like coffee,” I bluntly stated, trying to get Ruby to back off.

“All right, tea then.”

“I don’t like coffee or tea. I don’t like drinks with caffeine or any kind of hot drinks…”

“Ha-ha. You’re fussy. Ok, we’ll get a bite to eat then,” spoke Ruby, pretending she didn’t understand my hint that I wasn’t interested.  

“Actually, I’ll give it a miss. I’m kinda busy,” I lied, hoping she’d finally take the hint.

“Ok. Maybe some other time?”

“This pic is going all over the school!” exclaimed Marley. I could hear him from the other side of the school corridor, laughing with all his friends about that embarrassing picture of me.

“Errr… I have to go,” I briefly said to Ruby, as I snatched my backpack from the floor and zoomed past, leaving her alone. I tried my best to avoid Marley and his gang. I just couldn’t be bothered to fact the verbal abusers again!

 

Her hair was a golden brown colour; it was put in a loose ponytail, with her wavy fringe resting beside her ear (if only my fringe did that). Although she sat on the other side of the classroom from me, each time I turned to have a glance at the god-like figure, her bright, brown bewitching eyes somehow made me want to go up to her and tell her how much of a beautiful, attractive potential-model she was.

“Everybody, time is up! We will continue our work on world war two next lesson!” exclaimed Mr Smith, our A Level history teacher. As everyone stood up at the end of the lesson, I was tempted to approach the mystery girl and ask for her name and number.  But I was too shy! Instead I just stood in a spot alone, in the middle of the classroom, whilst listening to everyone’s conversations around the room, scanning for the word “Jamie.” I hoped Marley didn’t start the rumour spreading already. I had to savour this last moment in a classroom, where no-one knew my secret. I had to…

“Hi! It’s Jamie, right?” spoke a soft confident voice. I swiftly turned round to find that heavenly voice belonged to that dream girl who I was longing after.

“Errr… Yeah,” I humbly spoke, subconsciously rubbing my ear at the same time.

“You ok?” she asked, seeming quite concerned. “It’s just that you looked quite lonely standing here alone. Thought you might want some company.”

“Oh, Errr… thanks,” I said, smiling at the girl’s beautiful face. Suddenly, the bell rang and tonnes of students sprinted out of the classroom, including that girl. What was her name? I had to know her name. I had to ask!

“Wait!” I ran, trying to dodge past many year twelves, in order to reach that Goddess. That Princess. That Queen. That girl. However, it was too late. The girl was gone and I was left, eagerly wanting to know her name.

 

“Jamie? Jamie, are you ok?” These words kept on echoing in my head throughout my whole maths lesson. All I could think about was her!

“So you take the two x onto the other side of the equation, so it becomes minus two x. So five x minus two x is equal to nine is… Jamie? Jamie?!”

“Yeah?” I jumped, shaking my entire desk, as I was just woken from my daydream. As this happened, a bunch of year twelves sitting behind me started to giggle and throw paper planes at me. However, our old maths teacher, who clearly couldn’t see or hear, just focused on me, attempting to answer his question.

“Errr… ten?” I guessed, not having a clue what this x meant. I just about scraped a C in GCSE maths, so I don’t know what I was thinking doing A Level maths!

“Are you stupid? He’s so thick! It’s three, you moron!” yelled Marley, cracking up everyone else around him.

“You are on litter pick for a whole week,” coldly stated Mr Dumpley, our maths teacher, to me. “You never listen in class. At least Marley knows the answer. Well done, Marley.”

“Thanks, Sir,” proudly replied Marley.

“Knock! Knock!” suddenly went the door!

“Come in!” shouted the teacher, abruptly startling every person in the room.

“Is this year twelve maths, set two?” the humble girl asked, standing at the door. It was her! It was my dream girl!

“Yes, why?” asked the teacher.

“I’m the new girl. I’m supposed to be joining the class today.”

“Oh, yes! And you are?”

“Dakota Lewis, Sir.”

“Oh, yes, Dakota. I’ve been expecting you. Take a seat beside, err…” Mr Dumpley peered round the room and suddenly spotted the empty seat next to me. “Jamie! Maybe you could teach him a thing or too. Maths seems to be his weak point.”          

Leave a Reply

