8creativewriters

A fine WordPress.com site

The metal object in the middle of town by S

Leave a comment

I stand back, staring at my creation with pride, like a mother watching her child. With this device, I can change the world forever. As its smooth shiny surface glints and sparkles, I can feel its power from within tugging at me.

I step forward, caressing its cool surface, as it tingles on my warm skin. It is time. Closing my eyes, I stretch out my hand until it hovers in front of the round silver button. I swallow hard.

It’s done.

As the beams envelope me, I hear a strange humming, as everyone turns, straining to listen. Then they appear. One by one, the creatures emerge. Creatures from another world.

Leave a Reply

