8creativewriters

A fine WordPress.com site

The Silver Lining by S (10 min activity)

Leave a comment

The water rises, swirling and clawing at everything in its path. People run, screaming and crying as prized possessions are swept away. Panic. Amongst the noise, I sit and watch in silence, perched on the edge of the rooftop of my flooded home. I ignore the lapping waves rising below me; my eyes are for the people only. Neighbors who haven’t spoken in years are clinging together, their petty differences forgotten in the face of destruction, as they stand united against the destruction unfolding before them. As the dark clouds continue to gather overhead, my eyes are drawn to the silver tears that mingle, washing away the years of fights and arguments as they watch this liquid monster swallow up their homes. Some may call this a disaster.I call it a miracle.

Leave a Reply

